I’m Mac McNeill and I’ve collected images of Fort Collins and the surrounding area for a dozen years or more, around 1,500 images so far. Someday I’ll donate the entire collection to the Local History Archive at the Fort Collins Museum of Discovery but, for now, I’ll share them with you. (See the “About Me” tab for more information on me and my collection.)

Street Scene College Looking Up Linden 1922
Fort Collins, Colorado 1922

The heart of the collection, around 40 percent, is images of Fort Collins. You’ll see street scenes like this one, looking up Linden Street from College Avenue, which we can date from the sign on the trolley to September 2, 1922, but you’ll also see photographs of people, places, businesses, and events. At times I’ll do a “then and now” pair, and at times I’ll post an image that I don’t understand, hoping that someone out there does.

 

Sheep on CAC Campus Aug 4 1940
Sheep at Colorado A&M 1940

The college has always been a big part of the Fort Collins community and it is a big part of my collection, around 20 percent of my images. You’ll see that I love the buildings around the oval, but I also like the Quonset huts that were there just after World War II and the things students did, from protesting to seeing how many of them can fit in a car, and this image of sheep on the campus in 1940, with, I think, the Weber Building on the right side of the image. The Weber, or math building, is located on the west side of the oval.

Arrowhead Lodge c1950
Arrowhead Lodge Exterior, Poudre Canyon c. 1950

 

 

Arrowhead Lodge Interior c1950
Arrowhead Lodge Interior, Poudre Canyon c. 1950

The Poudre Canyon is Fort Collins’ playground and a destination for photographers since the 1880s. These two images of Arrowhead Lodge, taken circa 1950, are by Mark Miller, a longtime Fort Collins’ photographer and the subject of the first book I wrote with Barbara Fleming, Fort Collins: The Miller Photographers. You’ll see I like Miller’s work but you’ll also see I love the images by iconic early photographers like G. T. Wilkins, Stephen Seckner, Edward Bunn, and H. C. Brady. Images of the canyon are about 15 percent of my collection.

Johnstown CO Beet Wagons on Street Bigger
Johnstown, Colorado c. 1909

I try to match the images I collect with the collecting interests of the Fort Collins archive. The archive is interested in much of Larimer County, but they don’t want to duplicate work going on in Loveland and Estes Park, for example. So I collect images of the smaller towns around Fort Collins, including Livermore, Red Feather Lakes, Timnath and Wellington, and some of the towns that have disappeared, like Log Cabin and Manhattan. You’ll see images like this one of Johnstown, Colorado, with beet wagons in the street, between the blacksmith shop and the saloon, postmarked January 1909. You’ll also see that I like images that tell the stories of the early industries, especially the sugar beet industry and the oil and gas exploration of the 1920s.

Let me end this first post with one more image.

Tank on Car April 1948 Bigger
Sherman Tank Crushing Car 1948

That’s a 36-ton Sherman tank that accidently drove onto a parked sedan, on the south end of the Colorado A & M campus, during a parade on August 28, 1948. The Coloradoan commented, “No contest – something had to give and it definitely wasn’t the tank.”

I showed this image to my son, who lives here in Fort Collins, and he said, “You need to get some of these images online.” Well, here’s the start. I hope you’ll stay with me through the process.

Comment publically by using “Leave a Reply” at the end of this post or contact me privately by using this email address: fortcollinsimages@comcast.net.

 

 

4 thoughts on “What Will You See on Fort Collins Images?

  1. What was a Sherman Tank doing on Colo. A&M campus? What parade would occur on campus on August 28, 1948, before Fall term began? — 3 years after WWII and long before Korean War and “cold war” with USSR? — no holiday or historic event ca. August 28.

    Like

    1. An Associated Press article reported that the tank was taking part in a “Colorado A&M College ROTC show.” The Coloradoan article said that a first lieutenant in the National Guard was driving the tank.

      Like

  2. Sheep at Colorado A & M about 1940. This photo is not the Weber Building, the sheep are grazing about where A-Wing of the Clark Building now stands (originally called Social Sciences Building). The buildings in the photograph from left to right: Veterinary Hospital (later called Vet Science – has been demolished); west side of Veterinary Medicine Building (now named J.V.K. Wagar); and the west side of the Forestry Building (you can faintly see the roof line of the Administration Building above Forestry roof to the northeast).

    Like

Leave a Reply

